# **BOTTINEAU COUNTY WATER RESOURCE DISTRICT**

## **BCWRD BOARD OF MANAGERS MEETING AGENDA**

Monday, May 19, 2025, 9:00 a.m.

Bottineau County Courthouse Commissioners' Room 314 5th Street W., Bottineau, North Dakota

## **Agenda**

**CALL TO ORDER** 

ROLL CALL

#### **SETTING OF THE AGENDA**

- 1. APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL REPORT/APPROPRIATIONS
  - A. May 2025 Financial Packet (1-42)
- 2. Approval of April 21, 2025, Regular Board Meeting Minutes (43-49)
- 3. ASSESSMENT DRAINS

The following agenda items contain existing legal drains, pending legal drain projects, and proposed legal drain projects. Not all legal drains listed here have been officially designated or established under N.D. Century Code ch. 61-16.1.

- A. Baumann Drain
- B. Haas Coulee Drain
  - I. Stead Drain Phase II
    - a. Easement Acquisition
      - i. Easement 01 (SE¼ & SE¼SW¼ Sec. 21-162-81)(Halstead & Mathwich RLT)
      - ii. Easement 02 (SW¼SW¼ Sec. 21-162-81) (Stead) (50-55)
      - iii. Easement 03 (SW¼ Sec. 20-162-81) (Dakota Plains Farm, LLC) (56-61)
      - iv. Easement 04 (S½NW¼ Sec. 20-162-81) (Peterson)
      - v. Easement 05 (NE¼ Sec. 19 & SE¼ 18-162-81) (Feland)

- II. Haas Coulee Phase V
  - a. Easement Acquisition
    - Easement 01A (E2NE4 Sec. 21; SE4 Sec. 16; SW4 Sec. 17; NE4 Sec. 18-163-83) (Drangsholt)
    - ii. Easement 01B (NW¼NE¼ Sec. 21-163-83) (Drangsholt) (62-66)
    - iii. Easement 02 (SE4 Sec. 17-163-83) (Keith)
    - iv. Easement 03 (SE4 Sec. 18-163-83) (Cook Family Trust)
- C. Brander Drain
  - I. West Extension

P.O. Box 268 | Bottineau, ND 58318 | https://www.bottineauco.com/water | Clifford Issendorf, Chair: 701-228-4070 Jennifer Malloy, Engineer 701-323-3950 | Kale R. Van Bruggen, General Counsel/Secretary 320-251-6700

<b>BOARD OF</b>	JARED	WAYNE	PAXTON	CLIFFORD	MITCH
MANAGERS	ABERNATHEY	DRANGSHOLT	ENGELHARD	ISSENDORF	OPDAHL

- D. Kane Tacoma Drain
- E. Overgaard Lateral Drain
- F. Tacoma Bitz Drain
- G. LaPorte Coulee Drain
- H. Moen Drain
- I. Gessner Drain
- J. Russell Drain
- K. Scandia-Scotia Drain
- L. North Landa Drain
  - I. Preliminary Construction Plans
  - II. Petitioner's Bond
- M. South Landa Drain
  - I. Easement Acquisition

- Easement 26 (Martinson, Maxwell, et al.)
- N. Stone Creek Drain
  - I. Lateral B
- O. Stone Creek Lateral (Elysian)
  - I. Gardena Lateral
  - II. Sec. 1 & 2-160-77 Clean Out
- P. White Spur Drain
- Q. Brandt Drain
  - I. Clean-out
- R. Willow Drain #5
- S. Serguis Drain

#### 4. OLD BUSINESS

**A.** 2026 Draft Budget (67)

#### 5. NEW BUSINESS

- A. ND Water Resource Districts Association 2025 Joint Summer Water Meeting (68-70)
- B. S.B. 2180 Public Comment Policy

#### 6. OPEN MIC

Any person may address the Board in their individual capacity on any matter not on the agenda. Speakers are requested to state their name and address for the record and minutes. Additional comments may be solicited and accepted in writing. Generally, the Board of Managers will not take official action on items discussed at this time but may refer the matter to staff or managers for a future report or direct that matter to be scheduled on an upcoming agenda.

#### 7. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND INFORMATION

### A. Staff Reports

- I. Jennifer Malloy Engineer/Administrator
- II. Kale Van Bruggen Attorney/Secretary

#### B. June 2025 Meeting

June 16 – Regularly Scheduled Meeting

### C. July 2025 Meeting

I. July 21 – Regularly Scheduled Meeting

## D. Managers' Updates

I. Souris River Joint Board

P.O. Box 268 | Bottineau, ND 58318 | https://www.bottineauco.com/water | Clifford Issendorf, Chair: 701-228-4070 Jennifer Malloy, Engineer 701-323-3950 | Kale R. Van Bruggen, General Counsel/Secretary 320-251-6700

BOARD OF JARED WAYNE PAXTON CLIFFORD MITCH MANAGERS ABERNATHEY DRANGSHOLT ENGELHARD ISSENDORF OPDAHL

8.	ADJOURNMENT

P.O. Box 268 | Bottineau, ND 58318 | https://www.bottineauco.com/water | Clifford Issendorf, Chair: 701-228-4070 Jennifer Malloy, Engineer 701-323-3950 | Kale R. Van Bruggen, General Counsel/Secretary 320-251-6700

<b>BOARD OF</b>	JARED	WAYNE	PAXTON	CLIFFORD	MITCH
<b>MANAGERS</b>	ABERNATHEY	DRANGSHOLT	ENGELHARD	ISSENDORF	OPDAHL